Rags to Riches

A few weeks ago I posted this amazing Lookbook by New Zealand designer Jessica Grubisa, and I also got a chance to ask her a few questions about her inspirations and the collection itself.

1. Was fashion something that always interested you?

Plain and simple yes, I grew up around it so the interest was always there.

2. What inspired the Rags to Riches collection?

Rags to Riches is a tongue and cheek look at class systems, I was inspired by ideas of  “faking it till you make it'” common ideas that float around in the way people choose to dress, I decided to have a bit of fun with it.

3. What is your opinion on the New Zealand fashion industry?

I believe we have some of the most talented, creative, honest minds in our industry that are slowly taking over the world! I work closely with BLACK magazine  (I’m assistant fashion editor) and through working with Black, I have had  chance to truly see a great side of the New Zealand fashion industry.

4.What advice would you give to young designers wanting to break into the industry?

INTERNSHIPS: with hard work and drive these are the key.

5. Where can you’re clothes be purchased?

I will soon be launching a label, but until the clothes hit store I have been taking custom orders jessgrubisa@hotmail.com I’m an email away for those interested.

Leave a Reply

