It’s my party I’ll cry if I want to

For the past year and a bit I haven’t been to a birthday and not cried, birthdays are such a scary thing for me, people getting so excited about life is scary and then I feel bad for not getting as excited about life as other people do. It’s my birthday on Sunday and I was telling my psychiatrist how scared I was for it, and he told me the most comforting thing. He said, “Just see it as something you have to do and you don’t have to be overly happy it’s just a day but other people want to celebrate you so give them that chance.”

tumblr_njymxuXu6B1qb14s6o1_500My birthday wish for myself is to not forget that it’s okay to look after myself.

10980751_799278676787858_9220740780374407513_n-1

“She held herself until the sobs of the child inside subsided entirely. I love you, she told herself. It will all be okay.”
— H. Raven Rose

Leave a Reply

